The UNL Emeriti and Retirees Association funds the following:

  1. The Wisherd Award for Outstanding Community Service
  2. The Wisherd Award for Outstanding Service to UNL
  3. The Wisherd Award for Outstanding National/International Humanitarian Service
  4. The Wisherd Award for Research, Scholarly and Creative Activity

Nomination Form for all Wisherd Service Awards
More on the Wisherd family, responsible for the funds that provide these awards


2021 Wisherd Awards Winners:

Outstanding Community Service -- Alan Moeller

Outstanding Service to UNL -- Charlyne Berens


Previous Wisherd Awards

Outstanding Community Service
2020 -- David Forsythe
2019 -- Melinda Holcombe
2018 -- John Bernthal

Outstanding Service to UNL
2020 -- Priscilla Grew
2019 -- Douglas Zatechka
2018 -- Richard (Dick) Dienstbier

Research, Scholarly, Creative Activity Award
2020 -- Daniel Shattil
2019 -- Thomas Carr, David Forsythe, Sylvia Wiegand
2018 -- Donald Johnson, Donald Weeks
2014-2017 -- no awards made
2013 -- Robert Diffendal, Benjamin Rader, Alan Seagren, Rodney Soukup
2012 -- Benjamin Rader, Jane Ravnan

Outstanding International Humanitarian Service 2020 -- Kay Rockwell

Awards Committee

Lloyd Ambrosius, Chair

Jake Kirkland Jr.

Rita Kean

Katherine Walter

Contact Lloyd Ambrosius with questions, comments and suggestions