October 2019 Association Minutes

October 2019 Association Minutes Lancaster Extension Education Center


President Jeff Keown called the meeting to order and identified the individuals being remembering in the Memory Moments.

                  Loretta Riveland, spouse of Arvin Riveland (Civil Engineering)

                  Roy G. Arnold, IANR Vice Chancellor

                  Wanda Omtvedt, spouse of Irv Omvedt

 President Keown read Article VI.3 and 4 from the Constitution to the members. He presented the slate of officers who were unopposed.  According to the constitution, they are elected and will assume their office in January 2020.  The newly-elected members stood to be acknowledged.

                  Don Weeks, President

                  Kim Hachiya, President-elect

Viann Schroder, Board of Directors, 3-year term from January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2022.

John Bernthal, Board of Directors, 2-year term to replace Kim Hachiya from January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021


President Keown announced the following upcoming events:


Nov. 13, 9:30 am               Coffee House Chat at the Landing

Nov. 22, 11:30 am            Luncheon and Business meeting    Lancaster Extension Education Center

                                    Speaker: Dr. Shane Farritor, Small in Vivo Robots for Surgery


President Keown introduced our speaker, F. John Hay, Extension Educator from the department of Biological Systems Engineering. He spoke on “What is happening with solar electric for homes, businesses and utilities.”

Please note: Other persons who should have been included in Memory Moments from the last board meeting:

Wieslaw Szdlowski

Robert Carl Sorensen

Jack Schinstock

Michael Combs

Anthony F. Starace

David Swanson

Cecilia Daly

Submitted By: Julie Johnson