September 2021 ERA General Membership Meeting Notes
Created by and respectfully submitted by Kim Hachiya, president and secretary pro tem

A meeting of the UNL Emeriti & Retirees Association was held via Zoom on Sept. 21, 2021, at 11:30 a.m. The meeting was hosted by the UNL Chancellor's Office, with Mike Zeleny, the chancellor's chief of staff, serving as webinar host.

Kim Hachiya, president, opened the meeting by welcoming Chancellor Ronnie Green, Amber Antholz (NU Foundation) and Shelley Zaborowski (UNL Alumni Association), and thanking Mike Zeleny for setting up the Zoom meeting, and Denise Todd, of the Foundation for coordinating the entire event.

Memory Moments recognized members of the university community who have died since last we met in April.

Charles Chuck Piper, College of Journalism and Mass Communications; Ad/PR

Paul Johnsgard, School of Biological Sciences

Carolyn Kay Beltz, widow of Rod Dillon, Electrical Engineering

Martha Lynn Nickol, spouse of Brent Nickol, School of Biological Sciences

Leendert Keerstin, College of Engineering

Rodney Soukup, College of Engineering

Reginald "Reg" Gartner, College of Dentistry

Buren "Skip" Thomas, Mathematics

Alfred "Bud" Pagel; College of Journalism and Mass Communications; Newswriting and Reporting

Clarence "Gene" Frederick, Transportation Services (widower of the late Joan Frederick, Agronomy)

Ellen Kapperman, Housing

John Bernthal, Education and Human Sciences/Barkley Center

Eunice May Green Buck, University Health Center

Margaret Griesen, wife of James Griesen, VC emeritus, Student Affairs

James Ray, husband of Rashelle Ray, Student Affairs

Linda Tesch, Agricultural Economics

Howard Norland, English

Therese "Tracy" Soukup, Registration and Records, widow of Rodney Soukup, Engineering Norman Smith, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Virginia Stevens, widow of Harold Stevens, Nebraska Extension

Roberta "Bobbie" Myers, Nebraska Scholars Institute/UNL Guidance Lab for Gifted and Talented

Leta Powell Drake, Nebraska Public Television; Theater Arts; Journalism

Jim Danielson, Nebraska Public Media; Journalism

Amy Jo Greving, Landscape Services

Lori Leonard, Landscape Services

Announcements:

Kim announced that the Board of Directors voted to make an annual contribution to the NU Foundation to honor and recognize deceased members. She announced the board was exploring establishment of a scholarship in recognition of our 60th anniversary this year.

Announcement of nomination of Linda Major as President-elect, and Monica Norby and David Wilson as new directors on the ERA Board.

We are hoping to meet in person for the October meeting, but because of Covid-19 restrictions, that decision is still a bit up in the air. That meeting is set for Tuesday, Oct. 19 at Nebraska East Union; speakers are: Chuck Hibberd and Jeff Yost, from the Nebraska Community Foundation about community philanthropy. Watch your inboxes for more information. Should we meet in person, we will reactivate our electronic reservations system so you can RSVP and order a box lunch should you wish. Our goal is to be able to also live stream this event if it's held in person.

Amber Antholz, Assistant Vice President, UNL Development for the University of Nebraska Foundation, spoke. She thanked the group for the invitation and noted that 2021 was the Foundation's 85th anniversary. The Great Depression ha taken its toll on the State's budget, and Chancellor E.A. Burnett asked 30 private individuals to help by incorporating the University of Nebraska Foundation in 1936. In 2021, the Foundation had a record year with with \$343 million in new funds committed. Amber noted the impact of private gifts, saying that undergraduate Dorothy Thai, received a UNL food science scholarship that was created by alumnus Edward Cornish in 1937 and is the oldest, continual scholarship at UNL.

Chancellor Green gave an update about the campus, noting the return to full in-person classes and a number of new initiatives.

Shelley Zaborowski, president of the Alumni Association spoke and conferred the Doc Elliott award on Fred Luthans.

Al Stark and Lloyd Ambrosius showed videos presenting the Wisherd Awards to Charlyne Berens, service to the university, and to Alan Moeller for service to the community; and Charlyne Berens will receive the award for service to the university.

The meeting was adjourned.